Strong Foundations: Minnesota’s Birth to Three Institute for Healthy Development

The Center for Leadership Education in Maternal and Child Public Health, the Center for Early Education and Development, the Minnesota Department of Health, the Minnesota Department of Human Services and the Minnesota Department of Education are excited to sponsor Strong Foundations: Minnesota’s Birth to Three Institute for Healthy Development.

The purpose of this institute is to strengthen the knowledge, skills, strategies, and alliances of those who work with expectant families, infants, toddlers, parents and communities to build a strong foundation for healthy development.

When: May 30, 2012

Where: Earle Brown Heritage Center, 6155 Earle Brown Drive, Minneapolis, MN

Cost: $195; $165/students. Limited scholarships are available.

Register at:

Keynote Speakers include:

  • Sondra Samuels, Northside Achievement Zone (NAZ) President and Chief Executive Officer

Cradle to College is the cornerstone of the work of the Northside Achievement Zone (NAZ). Focusing on the importance of community leadership and family engagement, as well as starting early (prenatally), Sondra asserts that taking a life course perspective will positively impact the achievement of all children.

  • Sasha Silveanu, Washington State Family Policy Council, Policy Analyst and Story Tracker

A Powerful Framework will share examples of how communities in Washington State have applied a science-based framework to fuel practice and policy changes. Sasha and her colleagues’ work include strengthening foundations for positive early childhood development; responding to ACEs with innovation and informed care; making accommodations for people, including parents and their children, with high ACEs; and improving response to ACEs focused on resilience and positive adaptation. She will share examples from–but not limited to–the education, social work, child care, mental health, home-visiting, and public health sectors.

Contact hours and graduate credits are available (graduate students only).